I got you a present!

December 25, 2006 at 6:11 pm 4 comments

[Update: Looks like Dave Batton beat me to the punch. *cries*]

Merry Atheist Children Get Presents Day Christmas, everyone!

In celebration of this day, I am giving you a gift – yes, a gift – from me to you. Yes, you. It is my first piece of public code – well, actually, that’s a lie. I posted this some months ago – I consider it my cleverest Java hack EVER. I’m quite proud of it. No! Digression! Must…focus. Wait…my second was this.

Anyway, it’s my third piece of public code, and I hope you like it. In short, it’s called PVCGradientCell, and it’s a subclass of NSTextFieldCell that uses the CTGradient class to mimic the Source List found in iTunes 6. It’s notable for several reasons:

  1. Despite the name of the file (PVCGradientTable) , it is actually not a subclass of NSTableView – all the code is contained in the NSTextFieldCell subclass. This is unlike Matt Gemmell’s iTableView, which requires subclassing of NSTableView. (By the way, props to Matt – his iTableView helped me fix a lot of bugs.)
  2. It uses Chad Weider’s CTGradient code to render the gradient – the majority of implementations use either stretching images or bare CoreImage code.
  3. It allows you to enable centering the text vertically, a lá Daniel Jalkut’s RSVerticallyCenteredTextCell.
  4. It allows one to specify whether the text should be bold when clicked upon.
  5. It freshens your breath.

Here’s a screenshot, with the text bolded and vertically centered:

PVCGradientScreenshot

You can grab it here, or check it out from my Subversion repository (courtesy of Assembla – great job, guys!) here:
http://tools.assembla.com/svn/importantshock

Use the username and password ‘anonymous‘ (without quotes, of course) to access the repository.

Bug reports, accolades, fame, and large sacks of cash are welcome at:

ironswallow at gmail dot etc

By the way, PVC was the initial acronym for the Cocoa application I’m working on.

Anyway, I hope that y’all have a rockin’ Christmas. Oh, and check out Scott Stevenson’s really neat THCalendarInfo present to you; it kinda owns my present in terms of complexity. (It reminds me of the Ruby linguistics module in terms of slickness and usefulness.)

Bye!

Entry filed under: cocoa, code, gui, nifty, objc. Tags: .

mogenerator, or how I nearly abandoned Core Data NSManagedObject: better than sliced bread? (Yes.)

4 Comments

  • 1. Johannes Fortmann  |  December 26, 2006 at 12:13 am

    Your repository link is, like, password-protected.
    Happy holidays!

  • 2. Patrick Thomson  |  December 26, 2006 at 12:32 am

    Oh dear. So it is. Fixed!

  • 3. Dave Batton  |  December 27, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    Great minds think alike. 😉

  • 4. Mike  |  April 6, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Call me stupid, but how do I set the custom class for the cells? You have that handy arrow in the upper right corner of the column. I cannot find that on mine?

    Thanks for any help/tips you can give.:)


About Me



I'm Patrick Thomson. This was a blog about computer programming and computer science that I wrote in high school and college. I have since disavowed many of the views expressed on this site, but I'm keeping it around out of fondness.

If you like this, you might want to check out my Twitter or Tumblr, both of which are occasionally about code.

Blog Stats

  • 656,770 hits

