NSManagedObject: better than sliced bread? (Yes.)

December 27, 2006 at 4:25 am 1 comment

(Update: as usual, Scott Stevenson totally kicked my ass:

+ (EPFoobarMO *)foobarWithDefaultContext
{
return [NSEntityDescription insertNewObjectForEntityForName:@"Foobar" inManagedObjectContext: [[NSApp delegate] managedObjectContext];
}

I often forget that I’m a cretin preaching to a crowd of really smart people.)

I kid you not: NSManagedObject and Core Data are becoming some of my favorite coding structures/paradigms ever. (I suppose I have Wolf Rentzsch to thank; by the way, mogenerator v1.1 is out. Check it out.) It’s just so awesome – so nice not to have to futz around with NSUndoManager, NSCoding, and all the other minutiae that some brave souls worked with in years past.

I got rejected – not just deferred, rejected – from the University of Chicago. :( As such, I don’t really have time to write a very lengthy entry; therefore, I’ll just leave you with this little question/guide.

The official way of instantiating an instance/subclass of NSManagedObject is (I think) to use the NSManagedObject class methodinitWithEntity:insertIntoManagedObjectContext:, like so: (we are assuming that there’s an NSManagedObjectModel and NSManagedObjectContext named model and context, respectively:

NSEntityDescription *e = [[model entitiesByName] objectForKey: @"Foobar"];
EPFoobarMO *foo = [[EPFoobarMO alloc] initWithEntity: e insertIntoManagedObjectContext: context];

Since they’re nice people, Apple gave us a convenience method:

EPFoobarMO *foo = [NSEntityDescription insertNewObjectForEntityForName: @"Foobar" inManagedObjectContext: context];

But if we’re sticking to the MVC paradigm (which we are, aren’t we?), one wants to put the initialization code for the EPFoobarMO object inside the EPFoobarMO .m/.h file.

+ (EPFoobarMO *)foobarWithContext:(NSManagedObjectContext *)context
{
// According to the docs the object returned is autoreleased
return [NSEntityDescription insertNewObjectForEntityForName:@"Foobar"
inManagedObjectContext:context];
}

But it’s ugly to have to pass the NSManagedObjectContext to the initializer every time. We could stick it inside the app’s controller:

- (EPFoobarMO *) foobar
{
return insertNewObjectForEntityForName:@"Foobar"
inManagedObjectContext:[self managedObjectContext]];
}

But that’s a flagrant violation of the MVC rules. (Of course, if you’re ignoring them, then this is an ideal solution. But down that way lies Nyarlathotep.)

Or we could resort to the insanity that is the C preprocessor. (I would give a code sample, but I don’t want to hate myself.)

Anyway, what do you think? Leave comments with your opinions or to alert me of any blatant inaccuracies.

Entry filed under: cocoa, code, oop. Tags: .

I got you a present! Objective-C 2.0

1 Comment

  • 1. Scott Stevenson  |  December 27, 2006 at 4:47 am

    I think somebody drilled the wrong ideas about MVC into your head, or at least some overly-strict ones. In my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with calling the NSEntityDescription method directly.

    If you want to create a convenience method on the model class so that there’s less code to write, you could name it something like

    +foobarWithDefaultContext;

    Which would fetch the context from:

    [[NSApp delegate] managedObjectContext];

    The case of a document-based app is a little less obvious to me off the top of my head, but there’s probably a way.

    Don’t let this discourage you from writing about Core Data, though. I’m sure other people are hitting the same conceptual roadblocks so it’s good to get them out in the open.


About Me



I'm Patrick Thomson. This was a blog about computer programming and computer science that I wrote in high school and college. I have since disavowed many of the views expressed on this site, but I'm keeping it around out of fondness.

If you like this, you might want to check out my Twitter or Tumblr, both of which are occasionally about code.

Blog Stats

  • 549,697 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

